LIGHTREADINGS MAG LOGO

Group Exhibition

(re-) CONNECT

October 2022

eng

“No man is an island”, as John Donne’s poem starts. We all need to be part of something, to belong, to connect with each other or to feel connected to a place. As it happens, sometimes our connections loosen and other times fail or break entirely, either by chance or will. But, when the time comes, we are able to regain our lost connection again. We reconnect with the people, our friends and family, with places we’ve forgotten, with things and activities we love. We even reconnect with our own selves; our inner mother, father or child, and we see and feel life anew.

More than 170 photographers responded to Lightreadings’ open call, for the online exhibition and the digital edition, entitled “(re-)Connect”, approaching the subject with a variety of interesting perceptions and perspectives. The final selection was made based on thematic relevance and the final format of both the exhibition and publication. Thank you all for participating!

Panos Kasimis
@panos_kasimis

gr

«Κανένας άνθρωπος δεν είναι νησί», αρχίζει το ποίημα του John Donne. Όλοι έχουμε ανάγκη να είμαστε μέρος σε κάτι, να ανήκουμε, να συνδεόμαστε μεταξύ μας ή να νιώθουμε συνδεδεμένοι με έναν τόπο. Όμως, συμβαίνει μερικές φορές οι συνδέσεις μας χαλαρώνουν κι άλλες να αποτυγχάνουν ή να σπάνε εντελώς, είτε τυχαία είτε κατά βούληση. Αλλά, όταν έρθει η ώρα, είμαστε σε θέση να τις ανακτούμε και πάλι. Επανασυνδεόμαστε με ανθρώπους, τους φίλους και την οικογένειά μας, με μέρη που έχουμε ξεχάσει, πράγματα και δραστηριότητες που αγαπάμε. Επανασυνδεόμαστε ακόμη και με τον ίδιο μας τον εαυτό. Την μητέρα, τον πατέρα ή το παιδί μέσα μας, και βλέπουμε και νιώθουμε τη ζωή εκ νέου.

Στο ανοιχτό κάλεσμα του Lightreadings, για την online έκθεση και την πρώτη ψηφιακή έκδοση, με τίτλο “(re-)Connect”, ανταποκρίθηκαν περισσότεροι από 170 φωτογράφοι, προσεγγίζοντας το θέμα με διάφορες κι ενδιαφέρουσες αντιλήψεις και προοπτικές. Η τελική επιλογή έγινε με βάση τη θεματική συνάφεια και την τελική μορφή της έκθεσης και της έκδοσης. Σας ευχαριστούμε για τη συμμετοχή!

Πάνος Κασίμης
@panos_kasimis

33 Participating photographers from around the globe!

Paulo Monteiro @paulomonteiro_fotografia

Peter Balentine @peterjeremybalentine

Reese Herrington @reeseherrington

Voula Liaskou

Judith Hornbogen @judith_hornbogen

Megan McMahon @meganmcmahonart

Olena Kryvoruchko @kryvoruchkoelen

Kelsey Frederick @kfredphotography

Simos Giannakos

Erina Pavlidaki @erina_pavlidaki

Kostis Argyriadis @kostisargyriadis

Epiphany Knedler @epiphanysk

Lena Siopi @lenasiopi_photography

Alberto David Fernández @albertodavidfernandez

Vassilis Bontosoglou @vassilisbonto

Joel Slotnikoff @joelslotnikoff

Dimitris Anagnostopoulos @dimitrisanagn

Ιan Troullinos @iantroullinos

Alan Wieder @alanwieder

Kayla Smith @kayla__smith___

Kenna Beban @photos.from.kenna

Marcin Korbus @marcinkorbus

MG Vander Elst @mgvanderelst_images

Kaiyu Dong @kaiyudong

Chryssa Sougiul @xrisa_ssss

Liene Lintere @lienisstienis

Giannis Oikonomou

Irem Gurel @analogdispo

Elpida Moumoulidou @elpida_moumoulidou

Yiorgos Papadopoulos @yiorgospapado

Sotiris Chasiotis @sotiris_chasiotis

Azusa Pan @azusapan_photography

Philip Guerette @phillygstake

LR - The Magazine
Issue #0 - Oct. 2022

LR- The Magazine
Τεύχος #0 - Οκτ. 2022

Want More?

SIGN UP TO RECEIVE THE LATEST OF LIGHTREADINGS NEWS IN YOUR INBOX, PLUS SOME EXCLUSIVE GOODIES!

Promise, we don’t spam! Read our privacy policy for more info.