LIGHTREADINGS

Group Exhibition

The Psychology Of Night

february 2023

“Night does not show things, it suggests them. It disturbs and surprises us with its strangeness. It liberates forces within us which are dominated by our reason during the daytime.” ― Brassai

More than 320 photographers from all over the world submitted work to Lightreadings’ open call about “The Psychology of Night”.

Panos Kasimis, not participating in the selection process, received and distributed their work to the rest of us. We each chose those works that we found most visually interesting and coherent, and suggested them to the rest of the team. After several discussions and debates -often lasting several hours- and also taking into account the final format of both the exhibition and publication, we arrived at the forty photographers participating in this issue.

We hope you enjoy their photographs bellow.

Thank you all for participating!

«Η Νύχτα δεν δείχνει πράγματα, τα υπαινίσσεται. Μας ενοχλεί και μας εκπλήσσει με την παραξενιά της. Απελευθερώνει μέσα μας δυνάμεις που κυριαρχούνται από τη λογική μας κατά τη διάρκεια της ημέρας.» ― Brassai

Περισσότεροι από 320 φωτογράφοι από όλο τον κόσμο υπέβαλαν φωτογραφίες τους στο ανοιχτό κάλεσμα του Lightreadings για την «Ψυχολογία της Νύχτας».

Ο Πάνος Κασίμης, ο οποίος δεν συμμετείχε στην διαδικασία επιλογής, παρέλαβε και μοίρασε τις δουλειές τους σε μας τους υπόλοιπους. Ο καθένας από μας, επέλεγε αυτές τις δουλειές που έβρισκε πιο ενδιαφέρουσες οπτικά και δεμένες ως σύνολο, και τις πρότεινε στους υπόλοιπους. Μετά από αρκετές συζητήσεις, που συχνά διαρκούσαν ώρες, καταλήξαμε στους σαράντα φωτογράφους που συμμετέχουν σ’ αυτό το τεύχος, λαμβάνοντας επίσης υπόψη και την τελική μορφή και της έκθεσης και της έκδοσης.

Ελπίζουμε να απολαύσετε τις φωτογραφίες τους στην έκθεση που ακολουθεί.

Σας ευχαριστούμε για τη συμμετοχή!

40 Participating photographers from around the globe!

Harris Andronos @andronos_h

Marcie Docherty @marciedocherty

Clarissa Matrissi @clarissa_matrissi

Voula Liaskou

Aleka Tsironi @aleka.tsironi

Jennifer Eddins @jennbean1

Denis Gillingwater denisgillingwater.com

Robert Matejcek robertmatejcek.com

Corneliu Sarion @spleen_und_schokolade

Ana Prelipcean @anne_de_beauvoir

Paul Mei @paulmei

Cam Crosland  @cjcroslandstreet

Mike Eubanks @mikeetog

Jennifer Goebner jennifergoebner.com

Samanta Krivec

Christina Sotiropoulou @chrissot18

Ray Knox @rayknox_photography

Efi Laskari @efi_laskari

Evgenia Douvara @evgeniadouvara

Stella Manioudaki @stella_manioudaki

Candice Yee @candyycandy

Hailey Lassiter @hailey.visuals

Kevin Bacher @sensualight.backup

John Tsilidis  @johntsilidis

Andres Hernandez @andrs.herndz

Lee-Marie Sadek

Thanos Savvidis @thanos_savvidis

Elena Grossi @_elenagrossi

Meni Seiridou @meni_seiridou

Pavlos Iordanidis @pavlos_iordanidis

Afroditi Diamantopoulou @diamantopoulou.afroditi

Thanasis Baxopoulos @thanasisbaxopoulos

Stathis Skylogiannis @bloom.after.boom

YU.TA  @yuta.s.m

Ifigeneia Sakkou @iphigeneiasakkou

Jeff Larason @jeff_larason

Kip Harris @kkhstreet

Lina Kalantaridou @lina_kalantaridou

Igal Stulbach stulbach.com

Alex Yelenoc @2pimpabutt3rfly

LR - The Magazine
is free to download!

LR - The Magazine
κατεβαστε το δωρεαν!

Want More?

SIGN UP TO RECEIVE THE LATEST OF LIGHTREADINGS NEWS IN YOUR INBOX, PLUS SOME EXCLUSIVE GOODIES!

Promise, we don’t spam! Read our privacy policy for more info.